It’s 3.45am. I keep going to sleep and waking up again after a short while tonight.

It makes an interesting change to my usual pattern of sleeplessness though, which has been seeing me in bed, exhausted, at a reasonable time, but not going to sleep until between 5.00 and 8.00am.

I am fortunate (or unfortunate?) enough to have many friends with errant sleep patterns owing to various mental and physical ailments. I am often one to be on call to others during the night for exactly the reason that my sleep cycles can be all over the place, and there’s a good chance I’ll be awake in the small hours if someone needs me, or is just struggling to sleep.

The past few days I’ve chatted several times in the early morning hours to a friend called Sarah Lover of Hedgehogs. That’s not entirely her name, but it is entirely true, and in case you find me referring to Sarahs, I will always indicate this Sarah with her given hedgehog loving name. Sarah’s been having a bit of a rough time with various things including non-epileptic seizures. We’ve been talking health, blogging, silly sleeping, and lots of other things during the past few nights. It’s comforting to chat about nonsense in the middle of the night, and also lovely to catch up with a friend I haven’t spoken to for quite a while. This is a definite benefit of having been awake during the nights.

